Where is the Barataria-Terrebonne National Estuary? (BTNEP)

BTNEP Boundaries MapThe Barataria-Terrebonne National Estuary is located between the Mississippi and Atchafalaya Rivers in south Louisiana. Bayou Lafourche separates this complex into two basins, Barataria Basin to the east, and Terrebonne Basin to the west.

View full image

The Barataria-Terrebonne National Estuary includes all or parts of 16 Louisiana parishes. Those parishes include: Ascension, Assumption, Iberia, Iberville, Jefferson, Lafourche, Orleans, Plaquemines, Pointe Coupee, St. Charles, St. James, St. John the Baptist, St. Martin, St. Mary, Terrebone, and West Baton Rouge.


© BTNEP: Barataria Terrebonne National Est all Rights Reserved